Home > Entertainment > The Newest Adventure for Jerry Seinfeld

The Newest Adventure for Jerry Seinfeld

My Seinfeld Obsession

Anyone who knows me knows I’m a huge fan of Seinfeld.  And “huge fan” is an understatement.  Let’s look at the facts:

  • There were 180 total episodes of Seinfeld and I taped them all on VHS.  Commercial free.  Every… single… one!  Back in college, with the help of my dedicated roommates, we taped every episode the old fashioned way: combining a CRT TV, VHS, TV Guide, and a sweet Excel Spreadsheet (how else do you know what episodes you’ve taped!?).
  • A day doesn’t go by when something in my life reminds me of a Seinfeld episode
  • It takes every ounce of willpower I have to not quote the show whenever said occurrences happen.  But, I still quote it often because I can’t help myself!

So, when I heard in 2012 that Jerry Seinfeld was trying out a new type of show, I was all in, no matter what it was.

Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee

On July 19, 2012 Jerry Seinfeld released his first episode of “Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee”.  These are roughly 10-20 minute videos that are released online on comediansincarsgettingcoffee.com, YouTube, and Crackle.  The premise is simple and is clearly explained in the show title – Jerry picks up a fellow comedian in a fancy car and goes to a random coffee shop just to chat.  He has explained that he typically borrows the car and carefully chooses it to match the personality of his guest for that episode.

Some of my favorite episodes from the first season were:

  • Larry David
  • Ricky Gervais
  • Brian Regan
  • Alec Baldwin
  • Michael Richards

Of course, I’m not that picky – I loved them all – but those were my favorites.  It’s really cool to see Jerry and his guests in a laid back setting where they act pretty normal.  And funny – surprise, surprise – they’re all funny in real life.

There’s More?Seinfeld - Tweet new CiCGC

The good news was Tweeted by Jerry Seinfeld on March 13th:

Since I enjoyed Season 1 so much, I was very excited when I saw that!  The news was caught in mainstream media too because shortly thereafter there was a New York Times article on the series being renewed (here).  And since it’s taken me so long to finish writing this blog post, the new season actually started yesterday (6/13/2013)!  Go to the aforementioned sites to see Sarah Silverman and others in Season 2!

Regardless, here’s the promo video for Season 2:

  1. Rob Sacamano
    14 June 2013 at 11:25

    giddyup

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment