Home > Technology > Twitter me this, Twitter me that

Twitter me this, Twitter me that

Lately I’ve seen a lot of people wondering about Twitter on their Facebook profiles.  My first experience with Twitter last year didn’t impress me much, but the more I’ve used it lately, the more I like it.  Since bullet points are such a hit on blogs, I’ll try to keep your focus…

What is twitter?

  • Twitter is “microblogging” limited to 140 characters per post
  • People are “followed” just as they’re “friend”ed on facebook
  • “Follow”ing is one-way: I follow Shaq, but he doesn’t have to follow me
  • Message someone by preceding their name with “@
    • the message is understood to be intended for that person
    • still a public post that everyone can see
    • e.g. tweet: “@jimgaffigan you’re a riot!”
  • Directly message someone so no one else can read it (like an e-mail)
    • e.g. tweet: “d @RyanSeacrest out!”
  • Short URLs are common b/c most web site addresses > 140 chars
  • Any tweet can be starred and will be saved under your Favorites link
  • You like someones tweet, so you “retweet” it by preceding it with “RT”
    • your followers will see it
    • give credit to the original author
    • e.g. I tweeted: “RT @DaveHatter: “The pessimist complains about the wind. The optimist expects it to change. The leader adjusts the sails” – John Maxwell”
  • Include a “#” before a term to label it under that “topic” 
    • good for grouping tweets allowing for better searches
    • e.g. @espndev tweeted: “Nevertheless; The #Bengals Will Win The Super Bowl!”
  • Twitter Search – great way to find out what’s going on

Plus, I think it’s not just the “tweet”ing that’s fun, it’s the 3rd party applications that interact with it which are neat too.

Third Party Application examples:

  • WeFollow – organizes the most popular users into categories
  • Cursebird – real-time feed of people cursing on Twitter (hilarious!)
  • TweetDeck – most popular desktop app for Twitter (+Facebook)
  • Twitter Fan Wiki – a pretty thorough list of apps

My suggestions for getting your tweet on:

  • Just try it out!
  • This is very public, so don’t post anything you’ll regret!
  • Start slowly – following a ton of people may overwhelm or annoy you!
  • Try it mobile – I use and really enjoy the free iPhone app TwitterFon
  • Tweet cool places, foods, facts, etc and not your boring, daily activities
  • Follow me and let me know what you think!
Categories: Technology Tags: ,
  1. 29 June 2009 at 01:20

    Thanks Jason, this was quite helpful. I have one question though: how does one go about turning a regular URL into a short URL?

    • jasonwhurley
      29 June 2009 at 11:48

      There are a ton of websites out there which make short URLs. I just picked one that I saw people use most often, and it works well for me. I just went to http://bit.ly/ and created an account. Then, I entered the URL I wanted to shorten on that page and it created the short URL. From there you just copy and paste that short URL wherever you need it. The cool thing about this site is that it keeps track of how many times people use that short link. Thanks for reading and posting, Luke!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

